Long Black Veil

Long Black Veil From the New York Times bestselling author of She s Not There a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carr

  • Title: Long Black Veil
  • Author: Jennifer Finney Boylan
  • ISBN: 9780451496324
  • Page: 198
  • Format: Hardcover
  • From the New York Times bestselling author of She s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past.Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college friend Wailer is discovered 20 years after her disappearance in Philadelphia s notorious and abandoned Eastern StatFrom the New York Times bestselling author of She s Not There, a new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past.Long Black Veil is the story of Judith Carrigan, whose past is dredged up when the body of her college friend Wailer is discovered 20 years after her disappearance in Philadelphia s notorious and abandoned Eastern State Penitentiary Judith is the only witness who can testify to the innocence of her friend Casey, who had married Wailer only days before her death The only problem is that on that fateful night at the prison, Judith was a very different person from the woman she is today In order to defend her old friend and uncover the truth of Wailer s death, Judith must confront long held and hard won secrets that could cause her to lose the idyllic life she s built for herself and her family.

    One thought on “Long Black Veil”

    1. 3.5 It is 1980, Casey, an obese young man who never thought he would find someone to love him, and Wailer, a pink haired young lady were just married the night before. With their college friends, an older teacher and a young boy, the brother of one, they decode to visit an abandoned penitentiary. Bad, bad decision as they will find themselves locked in this creepy place, one will go missing, and their lives will be irrevocably changed. Years later, now in their fifties, another young woman finds [...]

    2. 3.5 stars rounded up.I suppose with the world heading in the direction that it's headed, books like this will become the norm: overly PC books that try their damnedest not to piss anyone off. The problem I see with novels like Long Black Veil is author intrusion. When you move forward with a piece of art (music, film, literature, etc.) with the sole purpose of being progressive and inclusive, you better be damned sure your own hangups do not float to the surface. Because, in a book that struggle [...]

    3. 3.5 stars. There were a couple of things wrong with Long Black Veil, but I really liked the originality of the characters. In 1980, a group of university friends go into an abandoned jail, and one of them disappears. 35 years later the body is found, and the group's history gets stirred up again. The story moves back and forth in time, and it moves from one point of view to another. My first complaint is that it takes a few chapters to figure out who's who. My second complaint is that the plot i [...]

    4. I just don't know what to do with this book. To be fair I went into it thinking it was, as advertised in all the library catalogs, a thriller about some sort of covered up crime and a bunch of college kids exploring a deserted old prison. When I have certain expectations of a book and it then turns out to be something entirely different it throws me and definitely affects my opinion. So take that for what its worth. I opened the book thinking I was about to get into kind of a literary "let's inv [...]

    5. Long Black Veil, by Jennifer Finney Boylan, is a intriguing read!There are many characters and alot going on. Once I got everyone and everything figured out the story flowed nicely.A group of college friends, one younger brother and a teacher decide to tour Philadelphia's notorious and abandoned Eastern State Penitentiary. They become eerily locked in and one of the group ends up missing.Twenty years later a skull and body is discovered hidden in the walls. A murderer was amongst the group on th [...]

    6. 4 Stars.Long Black Veil is a unique character study of six college friends, brought together 20 years after a pivotal incident in their lives tore them apart. On a critical night, 20 years ago, six friends take a trip to an abandon prison in Philadelphia. One of them disappears inside. Thereafter, the remaining friends try to go on with their lives, most of them scattering, leaving each other behind. The memories of each other and that night however, linger forever. Memories however, aren’t th [...]

    7. Intelligently written, dark, and fascinating. It features a very large cast of characters, and at about 25% in I almost put it down and started something else, confused about who was who. I'm really glad I didn't, as it becomes much clearer as the book goes on. This is one of those books that is best enjoyed going in blind. I'm going to be very careful not to include any spoilers in this review, but it's going to be a short one because they're major plot points. It can get a bit dark and depress [...]

    8. I finished Long Black Veil almost a month ago and am still a bit flummoxed about how to rate and review it. This book started off so well—intriguing and atmospheric, with a central dilemma that I'd never seen used in a novel before. I know others have complained that there were a lot of characters to keep track of, but I thought they were very well drawn and it didn't take long for me to get them all straight. I genuinely loved hearing about how all of their lives turned out as they grew up an [...]

    9. This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I enjoyed this book quite a bit. It was a bit of a different story than I expected it to be only because I don't tend to read book summaries very carefully. I went into this book expecting a straight forward mystery thriller but I think that this book really a bit different. I didn't really think that the mystery was really the main driving point of the book instead the focus was on the characters and how their lives have changed sin [...]

    10. I first encountered Jennifer Finney Boylan a number of years ago through her memoir, I'm Looking Through You: Growing Up Haunted. It remains one of the most unique books I have ever read, a real-life ghost story that weaves a lighthearted paranormal investigation of Boylan's haunted family home with a more somber exploration of gender identity/expression.With Long Black Veil, Boylan makes a long-awaited return to adult fiction, her first such foray since her humorous novels of the early 90s. Lik [...]

    11. 4 stars--I really liked it.The descriptive copy for this book makes it sound like a mystery. It's not, really. In fact, there's not much plot at all. I'm going to talk about what the book IS about, and it might be considered a spoiler--though, since as I said, the plot is sparse, I personally don't think it's really a spoiler. But you've been warned!This book is a character study about being trans. It's about Judith, a trans woman, and her experiences, and how she's changed and hasn't changed th [...]

    12. I'm really not sure what to think. This was the first book in my life that made me realize the extreme difference between enjoyment and engagement. The book was definitely a page turner, and I read it in quickly in two hours, but the experience itself really wasn't that enjoyable.Admittedly I found myself confused by the overwhelming amount of secondary characters, feeling detached from everyone except Judith, a transgender woman who is struggling between burying the past (which she had done yea [...]

    13. Literary fiction, not a murder mystery. And definitely not at all like Donna Tartt's The Secret History. It's mainly a character study about a transgender woman. The murder plot is only there to bring about conflict in her current life. The writing style starts out decent, but then deteriorates as the story progresses. None of the characters are well-developed, but because Judith is the main focus she's a bit more fleshed-out. This book had alot of potential, but left me disappointed.

    14. For me this book was a big page turner. I kept wanting to read it, but work got in the way.This story has an unexpected twist that you never see coming. The arts and food are main parts of the plot. So keep your eyes open to that. Saying anymore would spoil this exciting story.

    15. via my blog bookstalkerblog.wordpress/"That the struggle to find a connection between the people we have been and the people we become is not some crazy drama unique to people like me. It’s all of us.”We kill off parts of ourselves throughout our lives, shedding bits and pieces that no longer make sense. There still remains a core that holds everyone we have every been, from that young curious child to the confused teen and so on. In that sense, we aren’t much different from the characters [...]

    16. I won an ARC of this book through a giveaway on . Thank you Penguin Random House/Crown Publishing and Jennifer Finney Boylan.I LOVED THIS BOOK!!Wow! i really can't recall ever reading anything like it. I've never been one of those people who "could not put this book down". Because i can. i can be on the last page of a murder mystery, about to find out who the killer is and i can put the book down. But I COULD NOT PUT THIS BOOK DOWN! If life hadn't gotten in the way, i would have read it in one s [...]

    17. I suspect I am not the only person who is a sucker for books that claim to be readalikes for The Secret History. This one said it was for fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott and they basically forced me to hand over my money and purchase it immediately. But the thing that normally happens is I finish the book and I am angry because it is not The Secret History, not even close, and I feel manipulated. Long Black Veil is not The Secret History, and yet I do not feel like they were entirely off th [...]

    18. Spots are ok, but it was 75% slog for me to get through these people and their selective or responsive traumas. Not any enjoyment or entertainment factors in this at all for me. Who am I? What's it all about, Alfie- those type of works need to be snappy, clever, sharp with more joy capacity than this one to rate it 3. DNF, but at 75% I rated my enjoyment and interest plus the writing style. No go for me. And I did understand what Quinlan's dilemma was. How could I not with the current trends of [...]

    19. this book was surprisingly good! i actually didn't expect to enjoy it but the great cast mixed with boylan's writing skills made it a pleasurable read.

    20. I started this book several times (confused due to a big cast of characters) and wanted to put on my DNF shelf but since I won it from LibraryThing I thought I had better finish and review. Long Black Veil was page turner! The story begins with 6 students, 1 teacher, and 1 little boy sneaking into an dilapidated, run down, closed state penitentiary. Of course it's dark and scary and of course they get locked inside. They try to find a way out, get separated and a tragedy occurs. Thirty years lat [...]

    21. The above is the description taken from . However as fitting as that is, it is not the description from the cover, and I feel a bit let down. I was expecting this book to be more of a thriller, and I guess I was expecting it to be. thrilling. I suppose it is more a mystery, and it's aftermath. When the reason for Wailer's disappearance was revealed I was let down again, and even more so at the ridiculous ending.I received a complimentary copy for review

    22. This falls apart rather spectacularly at the end, but either because it was so fabulous up until then or hell, just as points for how amazingly preposterous it all gets, this is going to get a deadly from me. One of those rare books that I read really quickly because I adored it but then needed to hold off on finishing because I didn't want it to end.

    23. Long Black Veil is a difficult novel to get into because the author immediately introduces about eight characters known only by their first names – and since several of the first names are non-gender-specific nicknames, it is difficult even to be certain at first of the sex of some of the characters. I would suggest jotting down a note or two for each character as they are introduced as a way of maybe easing yourself into the story.The story itself is about a group of misfits who become friend [...]

    24. Long Black Veil is rather unique in what it brings to the table. What essentially begins a mystery centered around the loss of a friend develops into a detailed exploration of the lives of Judith and 4 other individuals forever connected by their past.“You carry the past with you. Even if there’s a before, and an after, in your life. It’s still the same life. The trick is to build a bridge between that and what comes later.”20 years ago Judith and 5 other college friends decided to visit [...]

    25. In 1980, a group of college friends (and the 10 year old brother of one) makes a foray into Eastern State Penitentiary, an abandoned and falling apart structure. Once they are in, they discover that someone has chained the door shut behind them. This isn’t quite the way they wanted to continue celebrating the event of the day before: the marriage of two of their number. It turns even worse when the recent bride disappears… and doesn’t get found, not for a long time. Thirty five years later [...]

    26. The Long Black Veil takes us into the lives of six "friends". Some would call them misfits. With the feel of the late 60's to the early 70's, this group of friends was like a pack of misfits. On a dark night, the group of friends stumbles into Philadelphia's Eastern State Penitentiary. Old, abandoned, creepy prison they become locked inside. The night ends in tragedy and mystery. What happened to Wailer, an heiress and the recent bride to Jon Casey? Now 20 years later, the skeletal remains are f [...]

    27. Long Black Veil by Jennifer Finney Boylan is a 2017 Crown publication. Lithub gave this book a fair amount of ad coverage a few weeks back, and I could swear someone, somewhere along the way, compared this book to Donna Tartt’s ‘The Secret History’. Well, that was all the prodding I needed. I checked it out of the library ASAP. Well, no offense to the author or this story, but it’s not a modern day ‘Secret History’, and once again a categorization misstep by the publishers will most [...]

    28. "A new novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past."I won this Advanced Readers Copy (uncorrected proof) from the Library Thing Early Reviewers program. -Thank you!At times it moved slow but overall a very interesting storyline with some colorful characters. A well written whodunit filled with suspense and many twists and turns. Towards the end I was getting a bit disappointed when it seemed that the story was going to end in an unfavorable way, but to [...]

    29. Once I started reading this book, I couldn't put it down. The characters and the places were all so vivid. I enjoyed the plot jumping back and forth in time, though it was a bit confusing at first. I can't decide whether to pass this book on to a friend who I think would really like it, or to re-read it, it's that good.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *