The Bellamy Bird

The Bellamy Bird Almbury Manor is the ancestral home of the Bellamy family who have a priceless heirloom a golden statue known as the Bellamy Bird a gift from an Indian Prince solid gold and encrusted with precious

  • Title: The Bellamy Bird
  • Author: Clare Havens
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 396
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • Almbury Manor is the ancestral home of the Bellamy family who have a priceless heirloom, a golden statue known as the Bellamy Bird, a gift from an Indian Prince solid gold and encrusted with precious stones, the Bird is quite priceless One Midsummer s Eve in 1931 the statue is stolen, causing the downfall of the Bellamy family and the loss of Almbury Manor Modern day sAlmbury Manor is the ancestral home of the Bellamy family who have a priceless heirloom, a golden statue known as the Bellamy Bird, a gift from an Indian Prince solid gold and encrusted with precious stones, the Bird is quite priceless One Midsummer s Eve in 1931 the statue is stolen, causing the downfall of the Bellamy family and the loss of Almbury Manor Modern day siblings, Freddie and Jamie, descendants of the Bellamy family, go back in time to try to prevent the robbery and secure their family s future with the help of some mischievous schoolboys, a group of sailing mad children and boat called Lapwing Fans of Enid Blyton, Arthur Ransome, Agatha Christie and Richmal Crompton will enjoy The Bellamy Bird from the author of A Bella Street Mystery The Secret Formula and A Bella Street Mystery Doc Gutson s Revenge.

    One thought on “The Bellamy Bird”

    1. Nina Bellamy lives in a tall, thin house set out over five levels in London. Here she is with her husband, Tom their children, Freddie, Jamie and her ninety year old grandmother, Violet. Before living with the family, Violet was in a nursing home in the countryside. Both Freddie and Jamie love listening to granny's stories from long time ago. It was the story about The Bellamy Bird had the children most intrigued. The Ballamy Bird was a very valuable heirloom for the family back in the 1930's. T [...]

    2. Nina Bellamy lived with husband Tom, daughter Freddie and son Jamie in a narrow but tall dwelling in the London suburbs. Her daily trudge up and down the five flights of stairs found her exhausted – in the long ago past, the servants would have occupied the attic rooms with the housekeeper and cook in the basement kitchen – now it was Nina who went from basement to attic several times a day – her relaxation in the evening over a glass of wine with Tom after he arrived home from work was mu [...]

    3. What an excellent mystery for both the young, and young at heart!This story reminded me of the many days I would spend as a youngster, lying with my latest mystery book in my secret spot in the vines on top of the shadehouse at our family homeah halcyon days!I loved this clever story and the steady pace of action and intrigue which maintained continuity throughout. The cast of characters were well developed with unique personalities to easily distinguish them and mark their individual roles with [...]

    4. This is an excellent children's/YA adventure story also enjoyed by this older reader. Set in 1930s England on a large estate, Almbury Manor, a modern day family find themselves transported back in time to help prevent the loss of their family fortune and estate. The mansion is set on a river bank and the kids revel in the freedom to roam the estate, mess about in boats and camp out overnight that is denied modern day children. The story harks back to the novels of Agatha Christie and the Enid Bl [...]

    5. I first heard about THE BELLAMY BIRD when a group of online buddies were discussing it avidly – words being used to describe it such as Famous Five, Hercule Poirot and the Swallows and the s were being bandied about in very positive ways. When author Clare Havens offered the book for a review I jumped at the chance. The story opens in contemporary times where Nina and Tom Bellamy along with their two children Freddie and Jamie all live in London in a tall thin house with many staircases. The f [...]

    6. The Bellamy Bird is well and truly a Young Adult/Children's mystery adventure book.The writing is simple and the mystery quite light-hearted in nature. I enjoyed the turn of events that occurred, but felt that the overall tone of the book, coupled with the writing style was much better suited to the younger audiences. Some Young Adult books are readily transferrable to adults, but I didn't find the same draw to this one as I have had with other YA books.The main characters are two young children [...]

    7. If you are looking for a page turning mystery that keeps you guessing until the end this is the book for you. The book is about a family who goes back in time to help save a family heirloom that was stolen in the 1930's. After being told the story of how the Bellamy Bird was stolen and the family land was sold after Great-Grandmother Violet's father died the family went back as characters from their favorite books. Along with a group full of friends they help Violet (who is 8 years old when they [...]

    8. This is a beautifully written and magical book that would be good for all ages. After reading a bunch of disappointing books this summer, I was craving something excellent and this book met my expectations and more. Historical fiction and mystery are two of my favorite genres and this book had both. I really look forward to reading more of Clare's work in the future!

    9. A well written book, adventure, mystery etc, all in all a great story, really enjoyed the characters in this book and their journey a page turner. Recommend this book, thanks.

    10. I love books that include time travel and kids who enthusiastically participate in trying to prevent or solve a crime. The challenge for me in reading this book is that, since I kind of nursed it along for awhile before getting real serious about engaging in it, I tended to lose track of who's who among some of the characters. This made it a bit of a challenge once I really decided to get moving with it. But it all worked out as I was able to figure it all out without having to go back and start [...]

    11. For both young and older :)The Bellamy Bird was both a fast-paced mystery with plenty of twists and turns any younger reader would enjoy, and an homage to the the sepia-tinted, classical childhood we left behind--or wish we had experienced! Wonderful characters abound in an old house with plenty of secrets of its own. The book is appropriately meant for ages 7 and up, but if you want a peek back at the good old days, I don't think it gets any better than this.

    12. Such an imaginative book. The descriptions were so perfect, I could imagine I was right there with the crew of the Wren searching for treasure. The plot of this book was clever and endearing, keeping my attention throughout the entire time. As an adult, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend to people of all ages!

    13. This was an enjoyable middle grades book. It had just enough action, adventure, and mystery all told with a fantasy plot. Good book for a book report. I received this book from .

    14. Freddie and Jamie listen to great-grandma Violet tell the story of how the family fortune was lost back in the 1930's when a rare and valuable collector's item, the Bellamy Bird, is stolen from the home along with the valuable jewels of another guest. Freddie goes to bed with this swirling in her head, along with an overhead conversation between her parents about money worries.When Freddie, Jamie, and their parents awaken the next morning they have been transported back to the 1930's, when great [...]

    15. Perfect read for fans of Arthur Ransome, Agatha Christie, Richmal Crompton (Just William) and Enid Blyton - adult and child alike!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *