If You Like Metallica...: Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Movies, and Other Oddities That You Will Love

If You Like Metallica Here Are Over Bands CDs Movies and Other Oddities That You Will Love If You Like In hard rock history there is the time before Metallica and there is everything that has come since metal punk industrial grunge alternative all of it absorbed transformed and reinv

  • Title: If You Like Metallica...: Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Movies, and Other Oddities That You Will Love
  • Author: Mike McPadden
  • ISBN: 9781617130380
  • Page: 349
  • Format: Paperback
  • If You Like In hard rock history, there is the time before Metallica and there is everything that has come since metal, punk, industrial, grunge, alternative all of it absorbed, transformed, and reinvented by the band that, for decades, has ruled as both the Beatles and the Stones of heavy music From garage rock to the avant garde, indie pop to hardcore punk and, of c If You Like In hard rock history, there is the time before Metallica and there is everything that has come since metal, punk, industrial, grunge, alternative all of it absorbed, transformed, and reinvented by the band that, for decades, has ruled as both the Beatles and the Stones of heavy music From garage rock to the avant garde, indie pop to hardcore punk and, of course, all shades of metal, If You Like Metallica illuminates the sounds and styles that influenced and have been influenced by this band, in addition to nonmusical elements such movies, books, and cultural iconoclasts Just as Metallica expanded heavy metal to new meanings and new possibilities, If You Like Metallica expands being a fan of the band to an education and a treasure hunt that, put as bluntly as a devil fingered salute to the face, rocks.

    One thought on “If You Like Metallica...: Here Are Over 200 Bands, CDs, Movies, and Other Oddities That You Will Love”

    1. If You Like Metallica… was such a fun read.I am a casual Metallica fan. What I mean by that is I own several of their albums (4) and I’ve never been to one of their concerts. So a real metalhead would probably think I’m not a fan at all, but I think I’m a fan because:A. Metallica rocks; I know this.B. The first guitar bit I ever learned to play was the damn intro to Unforgiven, so all you metalhead snobs just need to back off, okay? And don’t you, “But The Black Album doesn’t count [...]

    2. I had this heavy metal friend when I was a freshman in college who was always barging into my dorm room saying "Dude, you gotta check this shlt out! I mean you have GOT to check this shlt out!" And then he would put some tape or CD on the stereo and 9 times out of 10 it was total crap. Mike McPadden sorta reminds me of that friend - at least in this book he does (I havn't read anything else by him). It's not that 9 out of every 10 things in this book is crap, its just that McPadden really hasn't [...]

    3. Not bad - an idea possibly outdated by the internet as you can find endless 'If you likeyou'll love' reviews on , rock & metal websites. But good potted histories of bands influencing and influenced by Metallica. Even gives ten reasons why working with Lou Redd was a good idea

    4. Such a good book if you are interested in Metal Music and specially in all the bands that made the history of Metal since the beginning. A long list of more or less famous groups and their influence on Metallica, or the way Metallica influenced them. For the lovers of this type of Musik.Libro fantastico per gli amanti del genere metal e specialmente per coloro che sono interessati nella storia delle band che hanno fatto il metal dal punk in poi. Una lunga lista di gruppi più o meno famosi e la [...]

    5. If You Like Metallica…is packed with influential band information; early rockers that influenced Metallica and rockers that have been influenced by Metallica. I’m a fan of Metallica and found the various bands referenced in the book enjoyable. There are pop culture references, obscure tidbids, and all around great information kept me entertained as I learned more about Metallica and other rock artists that I’ve been a fan of for years. Additionally, the book was written in a conversational [...]

    6. Metal maniac McPadden structures his volume in the "If You Like" series like a enthusiastic elder of the temple of heavy passing down holy writ to neophytes, but without the pompous associations that might suggest. Maybe more like a living room chat after dinner. "Oh, you haven't heard Death Angel? You'd love 'em, they had this one album" and so forth. Even as someone who has done time in the metal militia, I still found a good half-dozen acts, books, and films to check out. Loads of laffs, too, [...]

    7. Read my review over at shuizmz for a lengthier and more in-depth critique, but to sum it up in a nutshell, the book was face-meltingly epic! Fans of metal and hard-rock alike will enjoy a list-filled book citing all things related to the band Metallica. One probably will be taking notes of bands mentioned and albums referenced (like I did). So much passion is in this book, laced with chuckle-out-loud humor and sarcasm that it makes for a fun and light read.

    8. So you like Metallica and other similar bands? Like to read? Like to be inspired by heavy metal, punk, death metal, prog etc? Wanna argue points of deference? You found the book! Though I didn't agree with the author's assertion and opinions always - respect for the research and organization of my favorite way to cause and cure a headache. Metallica rulz!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *